How do technologies lead you to depression and low self-esteem?

In 2018, we are so exposed to new technologies that we see them as something quite ordinary. But is it really true? I will give you my opinion on it, you will choose in the end.

Living through depression is really bad

Technologies are part of our lives now, I think it is really bad not always bad but if you don’t have self restrictions on it, it will be very destructive for you. I got a lot of problems related to the fact that I was exposed to computers since I was seven and believe many teenargers around the world suffer because of it even if they don’t know it. Parents must impose a limit on their child and teach them to be more sociable before confronting them with these technologies.

Indeed, I am 18 years old now. Some time ago, I asked myself the question « Why could not I be more sociable with people, why did I experience depression at age 15, why at this age? », The answer to these questions is always brought back to the computer. I started using it I was 7 years old, at 11-12 I was doing websites, then I learned to code and now I have a great level but there was a price to pay for it . Since I was 7 years old, I slowly locked myself on my computer, spending less time with my friends. Besides, I never went out with them, I’ve never been there at evening outings or at parties with them, I prefer to stay alone learning to code. I liked that feeling and thought that they were wasting time on little things and I was not wasting mine. The problem is that my parents, very protective, thought the same thing so did not impose a limit. And that’s how I found myself alone in my world. I always say « do not stay in your room all day, get out a little, stay in touch with your cousins, do not be shy ». But is this really the case? We all know these thoughts about programmers saying they are alone, no girlfriends and they have a weird head.
My first frustations began when I came to high school, everyone had a girlfriend, everyone used to go to evening outings, everyone was clubbing, and I was 15 years old at that time. I found it odd, that I could not do so much, I dared not even talk to girls, I dared not talk to my friends. I was always the one who listened and who never spoke because I had not lived the same experiences as my friends who already lived all that I mentioned a little higher. And when I told them I do not have any girlfriends, everyone was making fun of me, but I’m the kind of person who never shows anger or feeling weak. I laughed saying that I’m waiting to the good one. But basically it hurts me a bit and I started to belittle myself by telling myself that they lived a lot of things that I can not live because of my shyness maybe or the fact that I did not dare to tell my parents that I would like to go out with them or maybe my parents would not react well to seeing me with a girlfriend, in any case I had this lack of confidence in me that came from a knock. I now know that all this fear of my parents comes from the fact that I have been too busy to spend time with them.

In this year, I began to experience lonely moments and gradually began to find my life boring, I tried to change it to seem more funny in front of my friends, I honestly tried, the problem with girls was not that I did not attract them, though, Girls like me a lot since I was in primary and until now it is, it happened to me that girls tell me « I want you to be my husband in the future « several times or others who winked at me in class, the problem is that I can not talk to them, I was afraid to stay alone with them in front of class or sitting with them, it was really the biggest scrap in my life. I was trying to change that but it never really worked so I thought I would live my life as a loner. And that’s how I found myself thinking about my death. I began to pray at night, to ask God to kill me at 17, I did not want to continue this life, I prayed to God because I was afraid to kill myself, I just wanted that it comes naturally. In class, I started to have bad grades, I had 10 average for the first time, no one saw my loneliness, at the controls of maths, I started to cry because I could not solve simple things and I came home thinking about dying and crying. But strangely nobody saw it, I hid it to the maximum.

I lived all this year like this, my parents did not help me anyway, I had to learn to get used to it and I do not remember how I did to get out of this depression but the following year , I went out with my friends for the first time in my life I would say, they told me he came out for the first time in his life, frankly it was a good memory. I really enjoyed it, I started stay next to them to be more interesting, when I think back to these things now, I see the guy who wanted to live like the others want.

Today, I live in France, I am at the University of Western Brittany, I live alone without my parents. I have a lot more confidence in myself even if I do not have a girlfriend yet or have never been in a club. I still have problems to be more sociable but I learned as I grow that every thing in its time. I do not live like other people want. I spend a lot of time coding but I understood that sometimes we had to be with people, new technologies are not bad but it is a question of balance. The advice I will give parents is never let their child live without restrictions with these technologies, I am lucky to still be alive. Many people commit suicide each year because of their loneliness, rejection of society. To young people of my age, never get depressed because you do not have girlfriends or even less because you seem the least funny among your friends. Every thing in its time. Stay with positive people who do not belittle you, you may fall into depression or lack of self-confidence if you stay with them.

Do you think that if I had been controlled by my parents when I was young, that I had less to face the technologies, I would have lived all that ?? Me no. So, dear parents, help your children to be more sociable before giving them any technological object.

I hope I have not saddened you with my story, I am 18 years old and I do not want to be sad anymore in my life and to react positively to everything.

Laisser un commentaire

Propulsé par WordPress.com.

Retour en haut ↑

Likestowrite's Blog

A frustrated wordsmith with tons of thoughts in my head at any one time

Postcards from Kerry

I just want to tell you stories...

Propulsive Growth

Moving forward in life.

supermothertongue

s, daily life, news, poems, life stories.

Sprout Splice

Root Transplant Repeat

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.